Quick Post: Lori Doll Update and Kruselings

I always try and call into TK Maxx if I’m near one, you just never know what they’ll have, and a few weeks ago I got a bargain, and a surprise.  I’d seen a lone Lori doll on the shelves at my local store for a few weeks, but wasn’t really wanting to add another one to my collection and certainly not for the price of $16.99.  But then, the last time I saw her there, I noticed her price had changed, she was marked down to just $2, and I certainly couldn’t leave her there for that price.  I wasn’t sure if she was different to those I had or if I’d keep her or give her to a friend, but as I stood there waiting to pay and wondering, it suddenly dawned on me that she had a plastic body, not the usual stuffed cloth. Suddenly, I was excited, she was a variation, and definitely a keeper.

Once I got home and compared her to my other Lori dolls, I realised she also had a new head sculpt (I think I prefer the old face), this time marked ‘Lori’ on the back of the neck, the older dolls are marked ‘Battat’. I’ve since done an online search of Lori dolls available at other retailers, and they all look to have the same face and body as this new doll. I can’t say I like the body, it’s very blocky, without much shape.  It’s also a little bigger than the cloth bodies and the legs and feet are slightly different too. This new doll is called Audrina and came only in a long sleeved swimsuit with a surf board, and as the bathers had started to stain the body I decided to redress her in another Lori fashion. Her feet are a bit bigger so the shoes wouldn’t fit, I had to pinch a pair from a different doll’s fashion.  Still, I love having a variation.

Since my last Lori post, I’ve added another Lori doll and their car, both found at op shops.  The doll – Faith – had her original fashion, minus her shoes and accessories.  The car is in excellent order, it has a built in FM radio that still works. I don’t usually buy cars, but for $4, it was too good to pass up.

I’ve also found a couple of Kruselings dolls – Chloe Gifted Painter and Vera Ballet Lesson – at op shops, again, too good to leave for $2 and $1 respectively.  They’re an interesting size, about 23cms (9.5In) tall with articulated bodies and inset eyes. I’ve since seen photos on the internet of them used as a friend for Sindy and Patch, and they’re quite a good scale.  They also look a little bit like a bigger version of a Lori doll, so at a pinch they’d work as an older sibling.  They have lovely faces with serene expressions but their feet are huge and a weird shape.  I haven’t been able to find any shoes to fit.  There are shoe packs available for them, but they’re quite expensive, so for now, they’re going barefoot. Chloe was missing her tee shirt, but a Barbie top fits her quite well.  Their hair is quite frizzy, so I’ll have to give them a go over with the hair straighteners, but for $3, I’m happy to have them in my collection. 

Don’t forget, I’m now on Instagram – @jenjoysworld(and a non-doll photo art account @jenniferbs_world). There’ll be some unique content and behind the scenes stuff, so head over and follow.

(C) Jennifer B – All content is subject to copyright and may not be re-published or reproduced without written permission. 

2 thoughts on “Quick Post: Lori Doll Update and Kruselings”

Leave a comment