Little Shop Minis

Note: I’ve posted an update to last week’s Only Hearts Club dolls post here.

This week it’s another dolly dilemma.  Unless you live in the middle of the Australian outback, you probably can’t escape the marketing for Little Shop collectibles, free at Coles supermarkets, when you spend $30.  These tiny items have stirred up quite a frenzy since their first launch last year.  A frenzy of collecting – and a frenzy of outrage.  And I kind of understand both positions.

If you haven’t seen Little Shop toys, they are miniature versions of popular supermarket products, and many of them are the perfect size for dolly dioramas.  Coles Australia isn’t the first to run this promotion.  New World in New Zealand has had their versions, as have supermarkets in Europe – Germany, Portugal, Russia – and Marks and Spencer’s in the UK is offering their Little Shop products as I type.  There is also a toy company in the US selling a Little Shop type product called Zuru 5 Mini Brands.  Like the Little Shop promotions, it’s a lucky dip type product, you don’t know what you’ve got until you open the package.  I can’t help but wonder how much money the supermarkets make from this sort of promo.  I’m assuming that the companies owning the items shrunk into Little Shop minis, pay for the privilege, it’s excellent advertising for them.  Then there’s the surge in sales as people try to complete their Little Shop set, not to mention the sale of collector cases, mini trolleys, registers and other toys they stock.  It must be a licence to print money.  And then there’s the frenzy on the secondary market, with full sets and hard to find items filling up eBay listings.

Coles Little Shop 1 (655x1024)

Coles Little Shop 5 (1024x790)

Coles Little Shop 6 (807x1024)

Many of the Little Shop items are perfect for dolly dioramas, filling up trolleys or making rooms look more natural and lived in.

A lot of people object to the mass production of more tiny pieces of plastic to make their way into the environment, and I agree.  I’m trying my best to reduce my plastic usage – especially single use plastic – and diligently separate the different types I do use, into their proper recycling bins.  But as I do this, I often think of the irony of my room full of plastic dolls and their paraphernalia.  And that some of the Little Shop items are just perfect for dolls, and great for dioramas and that I’d like to have them.

There are concerns also, about these marketing ploys aimed at children, determined to create good little consumers from an early age, and again, I agree.  There is enough pester power in the world without major supermarkets inventing more.  And so dilemma.  Because if the toys are out there anyway, and some come my way, I’m going to say, ‘thank you very much!’

Some Little Shop items are the perfect scale, like the bread.  Some, like the Shapes and Moccona coffee are a little bit out of scale, but work as catering sizes or large jars.  Some are just way too big.  That’s a lot of tuna and dog food!

If it were left to me, I wouldn’t collect many of these little toys at all.  I tend to shop at smaller shops, and three different supermarkets to get the brands and products that I like, so although I do shop at Coles, it’s only for one or two items and I rarely spend $30 there.  My friends and neighbours do though, and if they know I collect dolls, they grab the minis for me.  I really only want the ones that are roughly the right scale for my dolls.  I don’t bother with collector cases or completing the set.  And I’m glad that a lot of the ones I do own aren’t plastic, a lot are cardboard, or card with a little bit of plastic, so that makes me feel better.  Any extras that I get and those the wrong size, are swapped for the ones I do want, or given to friends.  A lot of teachers and teacher’s aides I know, use them as rewards for their students.  So, I console myself that they are going to good use.  For now.

I know that any little plastic toys I own, (hopefully) won’t be heading for recycling or landfill anytime soon.  So, perhaps in collecting these Little Shop toys, I’m ensuring the environment is safe from at least a few. Well, I can try and kid myself, can’t I?

(C) Jennifer B – All content is subject to copyright and may not be re-published or reproduced without written permission.

One thought on “Little Shop Minis”

  1. I got a few of these the first time they came out as I do most of my shopping at Coles (not from choice I need a store that delivers). I thought they were a little on the big side to put with my dolls so, in the end, I took them to the Op Shop. This time around I decided to pass them up. I’ll probably be sorry later.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment