Chelsea Cutie Reveal

As much as I love Barbie cutie Reveal dolls (see here), I adore the Chelsea Cutie Reveals so much more.  I was quite surprised to find these dolls on the shelf at Kmart just after Christmas.  I’d seen pictures of them on the internet, and thought they were cute, but in real life they are so much cuter. There are four dolls in this series, a Monkey, Tiger, Toucan and Elephant, and none of them jumped out at me as a must have for a particular reason, but the elephant stood out as one I’d like – if they came to Australia.  It has a lime green outfit and hair, one of my favourite colours, and I have a soft spot for elephants after volunteering at the zoo another lifetime ago.  I spent many a weekend in a little fundraising booth outside the elephant enclosure, selling badges, posters, stickers, bags and the yummiest elephant shaped gingerbread, raising money for a new elephant enclosure.  And as we had a good extended view of the elephants, we were often asked to provide the keepers with notes on their behaviour.  I learnt a lot about elephants, and really became attached to Mek Kappah and Bong Su, the zoo’s two pachyderm residents at the time, so when I saw the elephant Cutie Reveal, I snapped her up.

These dolls aren’t exactly cheap at $29 (thank you Christmas gift card), not that much cheaper than the Barbie versions.  Where the Barbie versions wear fluffy pants and a reversible jacket, these wee dolls wear a non-reversible fluffy tunic instead.  Their little fluffy heads are as detailed and well designed as the bigger versions though.  They also have fewer accessories than their Barbie counterparts, just shoes, a skirt and tiny animal friend, but they still have the temperature activated colour change accents.  The dolls themselves are slightly different to the average Chelsea doll, these are articulated, with bendable elbows and knees.  The articulation isn’t great, but it’s better than none at all. I suppose they’re a lot fiddlier to make in such a small size, so perhaps the cost is justified.

Chelsea’s Elephant suit is made from aqua and lime green velveteen with a cute heart print. She has aqua elephant feet shoes and mittens. Her skirt is aqua with white print and her shoes are lime green.  The doll herself is dark brown and has a white printed body suit with leaf print and aqua vinyl legs and her hair is bright lime green with blue streaks. The only disappointment is the pixelated face paint, but she still has a sweet little face. These Chelsea dolls match the Series 4 Barbie Cutie Reveal dolls, but I haven’t seen them here in Australia as yet.

I did add another Barbie Cutie Reveal from Snowflake Series 3 to my collection just before Christmas – the Reindeer.  The other three dolls in this series are Owl, Polar Bear and Wolf.  Reindeer is almost as cute as my first doll, Bunny, and wears brown and white spotty pants and reversible jacket and gold hoof shoes and mittens.  She also comes with a pink and gold pink floral skirt, long brown boots, gold antler headband, pink snowflake shaped comb and tiny animal friend. The doll herself has the Millie face (different to Bunny) and pink hair.  She has gold painted pants and tank top.  I’m disappointed in her hair.  I love the colour but the fibre is horrible, not nearly as nice or soft as Bunny’s hair. Still I love her, she’s a great addition to my Christmas decorations, and I’m happy with my small Cutie Reveal collection. Especially elephant, she is such a cutie!

Don’t forget, I’m now on Instagram – @jenjoysworld (and a non-doll photo art account @jenniferbs_world). There’ll be some unique content and behind the scenes stuff, so head over and follow.

(C) Jennifer B – All content is subject to copyright and may not be re-published or reproduced without written permission. 

Leave a comment