Quick Post: Novi Stars

Last weekend I went to one of my favourite doll shows and bought two things that were on my wish list. One of them was a Novi Stars, little cosmic alien dolls by MGA from 2012.  I remember seeing these dolls on shop shelves when they first came out, but I didn’t buy any.  I found them really interesting, but at that point I didn’t know how they’d fit into my collection and I was spending money on other things.  Over the last couple of years, I’ve seen photos of them pop up on my social media feeds and decided I really would like one.  The one that appealed to me most was Alie Lectric, with her green skin and hot pink hair and my luck was in, she’s the one I found at the doll show.

Buying her, I realised another reason I didn’t get any of these dolls when they first came out; the only articulation this doll has is in her shoulders and head joints.  Not ideal, but she’s so cute, I’ll begrudgingly overlook it.  The doll is about 18 centimetres tall and her oval head tilts and twists, and she has one straight arm and one bent arm that rotate at the shoulder. My doll is in great condition, wearing her original black glittery denim dress with pink trim and her gold shoes.  She has her little silver antennae and a pink hair bow too.  Her inset eyes have pink glitter irises and a row of little hearts form the highlight in her pupils, while some of her lovely long eyelashes are covered with gold glitter. She has the cutest little pointy ears and her eye brows are a curved row of pink dots.  Each of the Novi Star dolls has a gimmick, and Alie originally came with a light up backpack that directed colour changing light down into her transparent hard plastic body. Others had coloured liquid in their legs, wigs or talking mechanisms. Unfortunately, my Alie is missing her backpack and her little pet called Hi Def.

I’m not sure which ranges of Novi Stars were sold here or for how long, but I’d be quite happy for MGA to resurrect the line, as long as they were fully articulated.  The rebooted Monster High dolls seem to be popular so with a bit of tweaking, these could be too.  I’m not sure I’ll buy anymore Novi Stars, unless I find one cheap at the op shop, but for now, I love having Alie join my hoard. 

Don’t forget, I’m now on Instagram – @jenjoysworld(and a non-doll photo art account @jenniferbs_world). There’ll be some unique content and behind the scenes stuff, so head over and follow.

(C) Jennifer B – All content is subject to copyright and may not be re-published or reproduced without written permission.   

Leave a comment